National Commission for Science, Technology and Innovation (NACOSTI) is now a member of the International Science Council (ISC) following recommendation from the Kenya National Academy of Sciences (KNAS).

The ISC is the only international NGO bringing together over 200 international natural and social science unions and associations as well as national and regional scientific organizations including academies, research councils, institutes and foundations.

As a member organization of the ISC, NACOSTI has full voting and nominating rights and will be able to participate in ISC projects and programs.  ISC Membership will also provide NACOSTI and its members with access to information on international scientific developments, further opportunities for international engagement and collaboration, including funding opportunities, and will increase the awareness of NACOSTI on a global level. 

Prof. Walter O. Oyawa, Director General/CEO NACOSTI was recently appointed as a fellow of the International Science Council. Prof. Oyawa also sits in the current Governing Board consisting of 16 members of the International Science Council that was elected at the 2nd General Assembly on 14 October 2021 for a designated period of three years.

Governing Board Communiqué