International scholarships aimed solely toward women are meant to encourage female students to pursue higher education in subjects like finance, computer science, IT, science, mathematics, international business, etc. In this article, we have listed down 10 highly paid scholarships for women. Scroll down to learn more about them.

  • American Association of University Women (AAUW) Scholarships:

These AAUW awards are sponsored by the American Association of University Women and are meant to provide assistance to international women to pursue graduate, research, and postgraduate programs in affiliated US institutions. Women who have done something worthwhile for the women of their community will be given preference. The aim is to educate those women who have the potential to give back to their fellow women. The value of the master’s program is 18,000 USD per recipient. For doctoral and post-doctoral students it is 20,000 USD and 30,000 USD respectively. The applicants should neither be US citizens nor permanent residents of the USA.

  • Schlumberger Foundation Scholarships:

The Faculty for the Future Scholarships by the Schlumberger Foundation is a fellowship program which is giving out scholarships to prospective Ph.D. and post-doctoral students. The targeted group is women from developing and emerging states. The scholarships are given in the fields of engineering, science, technology, and mathematics at universities spread all across the world. The recipients can get a scholarship worth up to 50,000 USD a year which can be used toward justified educational expenses. They can also get the scholarship renewed provided that they perform well in the first year, are recommended by their supervisors, and provide strong evidence that they will locate themselves back in their home countries after the completion of their study programs.

  • MMMF for Women:

Sponsored by the Margaret McNamara Memorial Fund, these scholarships are only awarded to women from under-developed and low-income nations. There are many different kinds of scholarships under MMMF. The scholarships can be availed in the USA, Canada, Latin America, and South Africa. Aimed at developing skills and potential, needed to improve the lives of other women, these scholarships cover the educational cost of the recipients in part. 

One of these scholarships is an undergraduate transfer scholarship. This scholarship can cover a large portion of the students’ total educational expenses (which include living expenses, tuition, and administrative fees, and textbooks costs). The grant can provide up to 40,000 USD a year for the four years of the undergraduate program. The bachelor’s should be pursued in an affiliated educational institution and can be in any subject area.

  • PEO Scholarships:

The PEO (also Known as International Peace Scholarships) are for women from foreign countries to pursue Master’s and Ph.D. degrees in the USA and Canada. The scholarship can be taken up in one of the partner institutions in any subject area. Research studies, internships, and online degrees are not supported by this program. The scholarships are given on a need and merit-basis and cannot cover all the educational and personal expenses of the recipients. The maximum amount awarded will be 12,500 USD for a year. It can be less for other recipients. The scholarship can be renewed for only the second year of studies.

  • L’Oréal-UNESCO Awards for Women:

These awards are given to women who have significant contributions in the field of science. Each year five women scientists are selected from Africa, Asia, Arab, Pacific, Europe, Latin, and North America and are awarded 100,000 Euros. These women must have worked in their countries for at least five years and should belong to one of the following fields:

  • Life Sciences
  • Physical Sciences
  • Computer Science 
  • Mathematics
  • Amelia Earhart Scholarships:

These fellowships are sponsored by Zonta International and Amelia Earhart. The scholarships are given to about 35 women every year who are pursuing Doctorates in the fields of aerospace engineering or aerospace science. The award can be utilized in universities all across the world provided that the universities offer programs in the aforementioned fields.

The Ph.D. fellowship is worth 10,000 USD per recipient. This is a one-time award that cannot be renewed for the second year. 

  • Anita Borg Memorial Awards by Google:

Google Anita Borg Scholarships can be taken at the Arizona State University at the undergraduate level. The scholarships are solely for women and the undergraduate degree must be in the field of technology. The women scholars will be eligible for an award of 10,000 USD and an annual retreat by Google in the state of California. Women from all over the world can apply. The scholarships are meant for those women who possess leadership skills and can have an impact on the women’s community of tech. 

  • Research Fellowships by Microsoft:

The Research Women Fellowship by Microsoft can be taken up in any of the partner universities in the USA. Each university will award one scholarship to one of its applicants. The worth of the award is 20,000 USD for a recipient. The recipients should be interested in pursuing a Ph.D. in any of the subject areas offered at the universities. Of the 20,000 USD being awarded, 18,000 USD can go toward offsetting the tuition fee and the 2,000 USD can be used in traveling abroad to attend a conference in the scholars’ chosen area of study. 

  • Dorothy Marchus Senesh Fellowships:

The Dorothy Marchus Senesh Fellowships are being awarded in the fields of peace, prosperity, and development studies. This award is solely for women who belong to a developing country and are pursuing a graduate/masters in peace and development studies.

The number of awards is two and the fellowship can be taken up in institutions from all over the world. The total worth of the award is 10,000 USD which will be given in two parts in the two years of studies (5,000 USD per year). 

  • Eira Francis Davies Scholarship:

This scholarship is available at Swansea University in the UK. It is a full-tuition scholarship that is awarded to one female applicant a year. The recipient must be from a listed developing country and should be enrolled in a master’s program in the field of Health Sciences at Swansea University. Note that a master’s in Health Science is one of the most expensive programs offered by the university.